Keeping my focus

It’s been hard lately finding time to keep my focus and make my steps. There has been oodles of family stuff going on requiring travel here and there. What with parents in the South, and a new grand daughter on the west coast in the end of April, and relatives up north, it’s been tricky to stay focused on both my steps and my business. The business is likely undergoing some restructuring and it feels like everything is in flux lately!

The best way to soothe my soul is to go back to my steps. Lately that has taken the form of cooking as everything outside is nothing but frozen tundra. Even the woodpile was frozen together last night, requiring a bit of banging around to loosen up a few pieces. The wind literally howled yesterday, for the majority of they day, and so we really piled on the wood to combat the wind. Our relatively tight house even had wind whistle in, in some spots we never knew about. Silver lining? Now we know where are leaks are, so we will add a bit more weather stripping here and there in hopes of sealing these small spots.

As I continue my game of…”wait a minute, I could make that instead,” I went out and bought my Masa Harina Flour. Now to try out the press that hubby brought up from the basement. I literally haven’t any idea what it used to press, but it worked beautifully for my tortillas, as long as I kept them small. Good bye store bought tortillas and corn chips! Here are some pictures of the press, the tortilla and the yummy chips and fresh pico de gallo when it all came together.

tortilla press

tortilla

chips and pico de gallo

This snack was a one of hubby and company’s snacks for the Super Bowl. I enjoyed a NON super bowl event with friends and supplied plenty of this for our gathering as well. I would say that tortilla making was a success. I learned that even though I could see my hand through the tortilla they weren’t quite thin enough so I will make them thinner next time, but all in all they were very good. I baked them rather then frying, although I bet they would have been awesome fried:)

A new thing to tackle was my fear of pizza crust. I don’t know why but both pizza crust and pie crust have been things I am daunted by, always feeling like they won’t turn out right. It can’t be that hard right? So I tried my hand at a whole wheat crust pizza and never again will I think crust is hard thing to make well. It was awesome!!! Check it out below…

pizza

It actually made TWO pizzas this size so I was able to cut up one and put all the pieces in the freezer for quick lunches or a dinner in a pinch with a salad to go with it. The pizza was so good, of course it had the best local cheese on it, and lots of veggies; portabella mushrooms, fresh garlic, green onions, and tomatoes. It was a definite make again, and took NO time at all. I used to (I confess) buy cheap pizzas that were 4 for $10 and then we would pile on good cheeses and veggies. We will not be doing that anymore!

When not working on the Granola biz, family commitments or cooking, I have been read read reading! We had a good garden talk while driving up north last weekend to see family. I have my lists of things to plant, and we did go outside and put in sticks to mark off the new chicken area and garden area. After changing our plan for the old goat yard that was to become a chicken yard, and instead making it a pig pen, we had to reconfigure the garden spot and the chicken yard, but we think we have that all squared away now. I am ready to order my chickens for about the 3rd week of April, I selected Buff Orpingtons for their cold hardiness, because they brood well, are dual purpose egg and meat birds and are generally said to have good dispositions. Today I will be calling the “pond guy” seems emailing isn’t his thing and I want to nail down a date for our pond evaluation, and get pricing on fixing it and stocking it! It’s all very exciting that this will really happen!!

Because winter has been getting long and I have been thinking so much about gardening and fresh garden food, I needed something to eat that reminded me of warmer days, and look what I found in the freezer mid winter…

strawberries

Yummy strawberries picked last June, at a nearby farm. As I looked out at the snow and the icy driveway, I remembered how hot it was the day my daughter and I picked these berries. It was nice to have taste of summer goodness!Now… back to the granola biz

2 comments on “Keeping my focus

  1. Gladys Abeja says:

    I would like to purchase a tortilla press like the one on your picture. Can you tell me where?

    • Hello Gladys,
      Thanks for checking out my blog! It never occurred to me that someone would be reading it, lol! I’ve been blogging to have something to look back on as I get farther in my “steps towards homesteading”. Anyhow, I wish I could help you with another press like the one I have, but unfortunately my husband bought it at a yard sale because it was pretty cool looking. We have no idea what it was used for originally! The reason he brought it up from the basement is that he saw me looking at antique tortilla presses on ebay, I was looking for design ideas to replicate. So my best advice would be to check on ebay for “antique tortilla presses”. Had my husband not had this one I would have made one that looked like the antique ones on ebay. They are very simple designs. They also are for sale on ebay for reasonable prices, for antiques. I also read online that you can often buy small wood presses at Mexican Food Markets, for about $16.00. Hope that helps, and hope you enjoyed my blog page!

Leave a Reply

