High Bush Cranberry Jelly – It’s definitely Fall

IMG_5500

I watched these beautiful High Bush Cranberries change all summer, from green to yellow to orange and finally this beautiful color red. It is finally time to make jelly, and this year there were a lot more berries than last year! I picked them in the evening, and it got dark quickly. I came in and made the juice and I thought I had picked them all but the next day I saw a section I missed, so I had even more juice than I thought.

IMG_5505

hbc jelly

I read that Cranberries are one of the higher pectin fruits so I thought I would skip the pectin. I ended up with lovely syrup, so I processed again and used some pectin but not much. Then it became the consistency of honey. So it is messy on toast but delicious and will be great on French Toast. When I made the next batch I figured I’d just make actual syrup for mixing in sparkling water, for homemade soda or to compliment a cocktail, but ironically this set beautifully and is not jelly but thick jam. The flavor is magically delicious, and forget any notions of a cereal eating leprechaun, this is actually magically delicious, unlike that little fellow’s cereal.

going as a guest

Hubby was helping our daughter do some back splash tiling in her kitchen and we had a collaborative meal and BBQ’d on her patio. I took one of my corn relish jars out of the pantry and mixed it with some pinto beans and a few tablespoons of fresh salsa for a cold salad. The other dish I brought was simply green beans sauteed with re-hydrated Shiitake Mushrooms. I brought her some of the apple pear cider we made as she and her other half were here helping with it earlier that day. The cherry tomatoes were just to share, they have helped in the garden and are the lucky recipients of garden grabs when they are here.

The next day we had company so I made the corn salad again, and here were other appetizers and salads, all homemade: fresh pico de gallo, a cucumber tomato salad, a tomato bruschetta, dilly beans and some salmon from a local fishery and this became a spread for crackers with a bit of mayo, lots of lemon juice and dill.

IMG_5452

I purchased some local beef (counting the weeks till we have our own first beef, which will be in mid November) and we had mini burgers on some very small buns that I made. All in all a tasty meal and nice to see some friends we had not seen in years!

IMG_5143

We have been enjoying so many wonderful veggies, well technically I enjoyed the Zucchini pancakes above, I didn’t bother making those when Hubby was around, Zucchini and Hubby are not friends.

veggies

Although this veggie dish looks like it has pasta in it, those are actually Zucchini noodles:)

pot pie prep

It was time to use our last stewing bird from last year. This was stage two of my first chicken pot pie from scratch. I started by putting the whole bird in the crock pot with water and once it was cooked I had a lot of chicken meat and loads of broth. The veggies above went into the pie with the thickened broth. I used our mushrooms, carrots, onions and garlic to fill the pie, along with all the chicken.

pot pie

This was delicious!!! Once the chicken was cooked, hubby got a sandwich out of it, then the next night we ate the pie, the next day we had it again for lunch and then we had yet another lunch out of it when I turned the broth into a chicken veggie soup, and served it with grilled cheese for both of us. The one bird served us each a dinner and each two lunches, plus an extra lunch for hubby. It’s amazing how many meals can come from one bird!

pumpkin

It sure is looking like Fall is setting in, at this point. This morning it was 45 when I went to let the birds out. It seems too soon for a fire in the house, so as I sit in the cool kitchen (63 degrees) with a sweatshirt and a hat on, with my favorite radio programming, I am keeping warm with lots of coffee.

morning coffee

Leave a Reply

