Fermentation Fun

I recently said I was learning a bit of Fermenting but wasn’t quite ready to jump on the Kombucha train. Well, never say never because I can see I am working my way down that path. Let me say first, that I am not the only one who tried one Ferment and then turned their kitchen into a secret lab of bubbling bottles. It starts with Sauerkraut. The mushy Sauerkraut that comes out of a bag is all I’d really known till now. Yes, technically Sauerkraut from a bag or homemade are the same thing but only in the same way that a Lion and a barn Kitten are both cats. They are that different. I also love the process. No more frustrating appliances to slice it in mere minutes. A knife and a cutting board is all I use, I am not looking to be efficient with time here, I enjoy the process. It then goes into a large stainless bowl where it gets salted and sits, waiting for it’s massage;) Once the salt starts drawing liquid out of the Cabbage it gets a good massage, and it softens a little. It is then packed by heaping handfuls into wide mouth jars. It gets packed in with a wooden tool and then the waiting  begins. It’s very pretty to watch it change over time.

kraut done

Here is a beautiful bowl of Sauerkraut, that is amazingly crunchy and so delicious. I had to wait 3 weeks for this pretty bowl. It is said that for the best probiotic effect to wait 4-6 weeks or even more, but I couldn’t it just looked too good!

This is the thing about making Sauerkraut, once you start you have can’t stop. Sauerkraut is the gateway vegetable to full blown Fermentation Frenzy! I keep trying new things. I did discover that Brussels Sprouts pickled, are a bit intense when you smell the jar after opening it. I have gotten a bit of complaint from Hubby on that one. I learned that the brussels sprouts jar I did with radishes was more smelly, but still tasted very good, and the one I did with just carrots and dill and Brussels Sprouts was much less so, but also very good. I think of it in the way great cheeses are smelly! My Great Grandmother used to make pickled Brussels Sprouts and so I like them because they taste good, and because they make me think of her.

What else am I fermenting?

IMG_5909

These jars were newly set up in this photo. The left one is mixed veggies with Beauty Heart Radishes, Green Peppers, Red Peppers, Cauliflower, a few Thai Chili Peppers, Garlic and Dill. The one on the right is Sauerkraut, or will be in a few weeks.

veggie ferm done

This jar is the veggie jar on the left side of the above photo, but it was 3 weeks later. The veggies are crunchy as can be, a little salty, a little sour, and a lot delicious, similar to a Kosher Dill Pickle. The Brine is also delicious, but, not surprising, because I am that girl who sneaking hits of green olive brine while pregnant!

veggie ferm served

Here is what the veggies look like served up, I had to take the picture fast because they lasted only a couple of minutes!

IMG_5942

The secret lab is growing. The Raspberry Honey Wine continues to bubble, the Kimchi was doing it’s thing (my version of Kimchee that is), and the middle jar is filled with a variety of hot Peppers, garlic, onions, and dehydrated tomatoes. This jar after about 3 weeks got strained, and the veggies got pureed, and it made…

hot sauce

THIS HOT SAUCE! I personally am scared of it, but will use it as a base to make several types of sauces. I will be cooking all my tomatoes down after Thanksgiving and will be using this in combination with the tomato sauce.

IMG_6088

This is a variety of goodies. 2 kinds of Kraut juice, vinegar pickled green tomatoes and cukes, and fermented sauerkraut, pickled beets and mixed veggies. I love them all.

Leave a Reply

