Everything Spring!

Spring came on early and way too hot. It was crazy hot for a while being 85-90 degrees in mid May. This creates a bit of Spring Drama, with young plantings withering from the Sun, and well, me too, that is…withering from the Sun! It becomes hard to acclimate to, when it hits this early. Stormy season has begun, and with each storm I think, maybe this one will cool things off. Well the picture below was the one that did it. We got a couple of cool planting days after this storm!

IMG_8351

 

chives

I learned that chives buds can be fermented, so I had to try!

chive bud ferment

They can be used in a relish tray or with a Martini, darn I need to learn to like Martinis!

IMG_8393

Once the chive blossoms open they can be steeped in rice wine vinegar to add to a salad dressing, this turned out to be wonderful!

rhubarb

My rhubarb plants have grown to almost be enough for our needs, I still added some from Grandma’s plants though so I would have some extra.

IMG_8394

I liked this new rhubarb jam recipe because it doesn’t require any added pectin! So easy to make and really delicious. I might make one more batch! In my quest to learn from last year, I will freeze just a little rhubarb, I froze a lot more last year and I think Jam is a better use for it. Each year, I am trying to learn from last year!

catch of the day

What I found on my walk.

pbs and morels

…and more of what I found on my walk. Sadly it was a dismal Morel year for us, but we were happy for each one we found. The Pheasant Backs had a much better year, of course. Our Shiitakes are getting there, we should have a good flush soon, can’t wait!

I have been learning some new things, which I love. I have started learning about all the amazing wild plants we have and their medicinal values. This puts together my nursing instincts and background with my love of Wild Crafting and foraging. I practiced my first salve using these Dandelion flower tops. I dried them first a bit so they wouldn’t add moisture to my oil infusion. Then I heated the oil and let them saturate it, then I strained the olive oil that had the flowers in it and combined it with some beeswax, from the honey farm down the road. It is such nice beeswax with a bit of natural honey scent to it.

dandelion oil

 

melting local beeswax

Here is the beeswax melting.

process

I had extra beeswax so I made some candles as well. Shown below are the finished products.

product

My daughter gave me some dried Calendula flowers and so I made this salve as well. This was really fun, and I know I will want to do this more! I am starting to think about Holiday gift giving ideas!

fishing

Sometimes one must take some time to just sit, and so we did. All the fish we caught were too small:( The boat though was very relaxing, so goal achieved.

ginger beer

I am playing with fermented Ginger Beer these days. Trying to get it just right. The batch previous to this was better, so I am thinking I need to work on my Ginger Bug (my ginger starter). It is nice to be able to make a carbonated Summer drink like this.

There is only one more garden to be put in and it should be done this week. There is loads of mulching to do, but after that there is a bit of a lull, before produce starts needing processing. I am ready for a lull!

Leave a Reply

